Mind Maps and Learning From Classmates

Aleta May

Reflection for Week 2 EDET 637 Differentiating Instruction Through Technology          with Dr. Graham

January 31, 2016

This week we added a mind map to our blog. I tried both sights listed: bubbl.us.com and mindnode.org. I found bubbl.us to be easier to navigate and use, however, I found mindnode.com much more versatile. After posting a mind map from bubbl.us, I went to mindnode.com to create another style of mind map. I did upgrade my account, and had much fun adding in pictures.

Sally’s post inspired me to try to post my bubbl.us mind map directly onto my most rather than just having a link to it. I tried doing the same thing with my mind map that mindnode.com as well. I was not successful in either, but I did edit my blog and add another mind map, this time from mindnode.com

This was my week for experiencing technology glitches in both classes. In my Ethics class, I went to “Ask Lee” to figure out how to edit my blog to add in a reference I had left out inadvertently. In the WordPress blog for this differentiation class, I clicked something that left my reply to Sally saying– Your comment is awaiting moderation. And my comment to her posted to my blog! Was this when I clicked the “reblog” button?

Regardless of these issues, as well as spending much time navigating mindnode.org to learn how to create a mind map there, I learned how to use tools for organizing information for myself, for organizing ideas I want to teach my students, and for summarizing my thoughts much like I would by using Twitter. Also, I would use bubbl.us to start with for teaching students to organize their own thoughts.

It is really rewarding to receive responses. Tessie quoted me! We have common ground as special education teachers, so she could relate what I said about including students in groups where they can participate, even if it is partial participation.

As I wrote this blog, I was able to gather my thoughts on how the strategies we have been taught in professional development trainings over the last three or four years are so important for differentiating learning for students. What struck me too is that teaching and learning online is very much the same in that we need to use best practice by selecting strategies that best suit the needs of all of our students. There are benefits to both online and face-to-face learning environments, as well as drawbacks in both. By using strategies we learn for face-to-face learning environments, we are using these same principles in web 2.0 environments; such as discussion groups. Our students need to learn to use both so they can collaborate both in person with peers (and future coworkers) and with coworkers across the continents. Businesses are becoming more and more global each day. We need to add to this experience direct teaching of how to recognize differences and respect people across a variety of cultural environments. Otherwise, our students may misread the intensions of peoples with different beliefs, values and traditions. I am still working on communicating with people from my village; listening more than I speak is definitely important here.

Leave a Reply

