Week 7 for EDET 677–Reflection Essential Question: How can 3D-printing change the way we think about education?

Week 7 Reflection Essential Question: How can 3D-printing change the way we think about education?

Aleta May

EDET 677

This week I participated in the makerspace session with our class. I had completed project 2 prior to class and most of project 3. I was ahead of several students who had not gotten to the end of the project and another student was so far ahead of me, that she did not recall why my end result might not be working. I held my Arduino project up to the video on Blackboard for others to see the point to which I had made it. As I continued to troubleshoot project 3, through the makespace session, I tried a variety of different wires, and reviewed what I had on my breadboard step by step with the Arduino project book and watched a YouTube video clip I had found. This helped, as I changed one wire. But it was not until someone in my maker group had reached the point of reviewing the steps of project 3 that I realized that the kit had contained both a “P” and a “G” sensor, and that I just needed to exchange mine to “G.” Then I completed my project so that I could watch the ambient air temperature become the baseline, and change this with my touch—while comparing this to my husband’s body temperature. We both watch as the screen on my computer served as the monitor for the microcontroller Uno from the Arduino kit. I filmed and talked about the results with my iPhone. This and other video clips are on my computer now, so the next step is to place these onto our class site where these projects are placed as artifacts.

Thinking about the rules and design of a maker space this week was very challenging to me. I believe the design gave me such a challenge, because I want the maker space to include a wide range of projects, while simultaneously trying to figure out where these spaces will fit in an overcrowded school, divided up into grade range areas.

Finally, I thought about how interchangeable rules are with safety. Safety is a major reason for rules in a makerspace. Interpersonal relations, respect and organization of environment are other factors that greatly influence the need to even have rules in the first place. When these are fulfilled, safety, in exchange, is much more likely.

Below are insights I gained by reading the posts of four classmates.:

Amy,

@AmyTessiesim

@AmyTessiesim Hi Amy, I sent a response to your week 7 blog: https://tessiesim.wordpress.com/2016/06/30/edet-677-week-seven/#comments

Such a great example from your days of playing teacher with Monica! Maybe this was your true student teaching experience.

It seems like there is enough stress “outside of school” we certainly need to “craft learning environments that reduce stress levels, interruptions, and confusion” (your quote from Martinez & Stage, 2013).

Sometimes this summer, I just observe as I watch my 7 and 9 year old grandchildren problem solve together. They have learned so much more, recently, about how to listen to each other’s ideas and add to them—while being will to receive ideas in exchange without feeling offended.

Your starting guidelines are concise and kept down to 5. What an excellent way to communicate ideas to students clearly. Where expertise is needed in safety guidelines and interpersonal communication, these 5 points make excellent references to point back to—the become the main heading to ideas like why it is important to “Clean up after yourself.”

Jeff,

@jcedet637   Hi Jeff, I sent a response to your blog for week 7: https://clayedet637.wordpress.com/2016/07/02/677-week-7-eq/#comment-39

I like your idea of implementing having students sign up for “times to collect, sort, and reorganize materials.” When tools and spaces become everybody’s tools and spaces, I have noticed how easy it is to claim that “I did not leave that/those out.” When taking turns to clean up (in small groups), they learn that leaving a big mess for someone else in a shared space makes it uninviting and chaotic.

I find myself debating in my mind the wisdom of the first guideline from Chapter 9 “Try to solve all problems on your own first. Be patient. It will probably take a few tries to figure out what’s wrong.” Sometimes I learn by watching, then doing, then re-watching while after trying again on my own. However, there does come a time to trust thyself to figure it out independently—since there is not always a mentor available.

Your point about not crowding each other as they work is one I had not thought of, but could immediately agree with as I visualize this happening. Distracting someone while they are concentrating can be dangerous and create an atmosphere of believing they can’t do it, when really they are just being continuously distracted by a variety of interruptions, even advice.

Kate,

@masters_kate_17 Hi Kate, I posted on your week 7n blog post for EDET677 https://katemullin17.wordpress.com/2016/06/29/edet-677-week-7/#comments

https://katemullin17.wordpress.com/2016/06/29/edet-677-week-7/comment-page-1/#comment-63

Your opening statement sounds like what I should do. I have a K-12 vision, but starting small and refocusing the perimeters, goals and rules will take time to expand over time. I agree that rules need to be very specific; especially for different activities. Sometimes a different set of rules applies to different types of projects; except that being courteous applies to just about everything we do.

When students add to the list, sometimes these statements can be add-on descriptors to the other areas and may serve to explain the same concept in language they can relate to in their own class environment.

I am wondering if sometimes students need to practice with a manual tool before getting into the power tool frame of mind. This could help students think about the project more concisely and get used to focusing on how the pieces fit together before they add in concentrating on safety at the same time.

Another thing I am noticing is that kid-friendly power tools are becoming more popular now. I came home to grandchildren using their own drills specially made for kids, but real none-the-less.

Leave a Reply

