Aleta’s Reflection for Week 9

Aleta May

Reflection for Week 9

Nov. 2, 2014

Collecting data is ever moving. I noticed some people struggling to start collecting because we work in a system where so much is going on. We also just had parent teacher conferences, grading, teachers using the limited class time to set up another very needed google docs program, reading program assessment for lexile improvement. I was not able to get my full observation time in either. Meanwhile, next week, I will have an open door for observing—but it may be influenced by the absence of the regular teacher. I will have to make note of this in reports.

Scott mentioned a program called Socrative designed to visualize student understanding. I found the user guide and signed up for this free resource so I could learn about this tool.

Ali brought up how a change in her job affects data collection. I have also had this happen to me. I have to redefine how I do what, when and where, based on potential changes in my job demands. Finding out that others are in the same situation is reassuring to me.

http://www.socrative.com/materials/SocrativeUserGuide

Lindsey commented: “Over 75% of students ages 12-17 have cell phones (Ferriter, 2010; Roberson, 2008). This means that three quarters of high school age students are walking around with computers in their pockets. As education funding is being cut, it would be wise to maximize the sophisticated devices that students bring into school on their own.” She really got me thinking about some benefits and issues. I think communicating with parents ahead of time through a newletter/email would help them to feel like they are in the loop when I advise students to add free apps to their phones, or just to give parents opportunity to provide their input or concerns. Also, although new challenges arise for me as a teacher as I face management of students’ handheld devices in the classroom, I am aware that I am obliged to meet this challenge rather than try to make it go away.

I found an article about cell phone use in schools. One teacher interviewed stated that hard and fast rules will not work when setting parameters, but that it is still important to set parameters. Another teacher expressed the need to be flexible when policies are established (Charles, 2012). There are other issues for school wide rules. One teacher in this same article noted what I find to be true in many schools: rules are established, but not enforced. Also, some teachers have different parameters set within their own classrooms. It seems to me that school-wide rules need to be established and enforced, but they need to be reasonable. School-wide rules need to serve as an umbrella for classroom control and open discussion with students about cell phone use/etiquette in a variety of situations. In reflecting on Lindsey’s research, I thought much more about this issue than I otherwise would have.

Reference

Charles, Ph.D., A. S. (2012). Cell phones: Rule-setting, rule-breaking, and relationships in classrooms. American Secondary Education, 40(3).

One thought on “Aleta’s Reflection for Week 9

  1. sunshine winn

    Aleta,
    I am in that same boat with conferences. Finding it tough to get started. This week’s blog question helped me to feel like I can actually start pushing forward. I also agree with your comment on communicating with parents. It is so important for everyone to know what is going on in the classroom, not just parents but administration and other staff members. This helps with support as well as other interest which can get other staff involved.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

